With the Northern Ireland Assembly and European Elections approaching fast, you may be considering which candidate to vote for. You may wish to consider what your representative has done for equality and the rights of LGB and/or T people in Northern Ireland. The vote for Equal Marriage in Northern Ireland was recently defeated in the Northern Ireland Assembly.

Below are the names of the MLA’s who voted for and against. Perhaps you and your family and friends might like to return the favour to those who voted no.

94 Members voted, of which 43 voted AYE [45.74%]
34 Nationalists voted, of which 34 voted AYE [100%]
53 Unionists voted, of which 4 voted AYE [7.55%]
7 Others voted, of which 5 voted AYE [71.43%]

Mr Steven Agnew Other AYE
Mr Jim Allister Unionist NO
Mr Sydney Anderson Unionist NO
Mr Alex Attwood Nationalist AYE
Mr Roy Beggs Unionist NO
Mr Jonathan Bell Unionist NO
Mr Cathal Boylan Nationalist AYE
Ms Michaela Boyle Nationalist AYE
Mr Dominic Bradley Nationalist AYE
Ms Paula Bradley Unionist NO
Mr Mickey Brady Nationalist AYE
Mr Thomas Buchanan Unionist NO
Mrs Pam Cameron Unionist NO
Mr Gregory Campbell Unionist NO
Mr Trevor Clarke Unionist NO
Mrs Judith Cochrane Other NO
Mr Michael Copeland Unionist AYE
Mr Jonathan Craig Unionist NO
Mr Leslie Cree MBE Unionist NO
Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson Unionist NO
Mr Sammy Douglas MBE, MCA Unionist NO
Mr Gordon Dunne Unionist NO
Mr Mark Durkan Nationalist AYE
Mr Alex Easton Unionist NO
Mr Colum Eastwood Nationalist AYE
Mr Tom Elliott Unionist NO
Dr Stephen Farry Other AYE
Ms Megan Fearon Nationalist AYE
Mr Phil Flanagan Nationalist AYE
Mr David Ford Other AYE
Mrs Arlene Foster Unionist NO
Mr Paul Frew Unionist NO
Mr Samuel Gardiner MBE Unionist NO
Mr Paul Girvan Unionist NO
Mr Paul Givan Unionist NO
Mrs Brenda Hale Unionist NO
Mr Simon Hamilton Unionist NO
Mr Chris Hazzard Nationalist AYE
Mr David Hilditch Unionist NO
Mr William Humphrey Unionist NO
Mr Ross Hussey Unionist NO
Mr William Irwin Unionist NO
Mrs Dolores Kelly Nationalist AYE
Mr Gerry Kelly Nationalist AYE
Mr Danny Kennedy Unionist NO
Mr Danny Kinahan Unionist AYE
Ms Anna Lo MBE Other AYE
Mr Trevor Lunn Other NO
Mr Seán Lynch Nationalist AYE
Mr Chris Lyttle Other AYE
Mr Declan McAleer Nationalist AYE
Mr John McCallister Unionist AYE
Ms Jennifer McCann Nationalist AYE
Mr Raymond McCartney Nationalist AYE
Mr Nelson McCausland Unionist NO
Ms Rosaleen McCorley Nationalist AYE
Mr Basil McCrea Unionist AYE
Mr Ian McCrea Unionist NO
Dr Alasdair McDonnell Nationalist AYE
Ms Bronwyn McGahan Nationalist AYE
Mr Patsy McGlone Nationalist AYE
Mr Martin McGuinness Nationalist AYE
Mr David McIlveen Unionist NO
Miss Michelle McIlveen Unionist NO
Mr Daithí McKay Nationalist AYE
Mr Fearghal McKinney Nationalist AYE
Ms Maeve McLaughlin Nationalist AYE
Mr Mitchel McLaughlin Nationalist AYE
Mr Oliver McMullan Nationalist AYE
Mr David McNarry Unionist NO
Mr Adrian McQuillan Unionist NO
Mr Alex Maskey Nationalist AYE
Mr Ian Milne Nationalist AYE
Lord Morrow of Clogher Valley Unionist NO
Mr Stephen Moutray Unionist NO
Mr Mike Nesbitt Unionist NO
Mr Robin Newton Unionist NO
Ms Carál Ní Chuilín Nationalist AYE
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín Nationalist AYE
Mr John O’Dowd Nationalist AYE
Mrs Michelle O’Neill Nationalist AYE
Mrs Sandra Overend Unionist NO
Mr Edwin Poots Unionist NO
Mr George Robinson Unionist NO
Mr Peter Robinson Unionist NO
Mr Alastair Ross Unionist NO
Ms Caitríona Ruane Nationalist AYE
Mr Pat Sheehan Nationalist AYE
Mr Jimmy Spratt Unionist NO
Mr Mervyn Storey Unionist NO
Mr Robin Swann Unionist NO
Mr Peter Weir Unionist NO
Mr Jim Wells Unionist NO
Mr Sammy Wilson Unionist NO

For a full transcript of the debate click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *